Close Menu
Latest News
Football Triumph!

Springburn Under-16 TeamCongratulations to the Springburn Academy Under-16 Football team on winning the Lloyds TSB Scottish Under-16 Shield. This is a fantastic achievement for the team and for the school.

"A historic win for Springburn" is how the Youth Football Scotland web site reported it! (Read their full match report here.)

On Tuesday 24 April, Springburn Academy won the shield -- for the first time in the competition's 90-year history -- beating St Ninian's High School, Eastwood, 3-0 at the Airdrie Excelsior Stadium, home of Airdrie United.

Goal-scorers on what was a memorable night for everyone were: Ross McLean, Scott Forrester, and Stuart McCann. The match, a great advert for schools football, was well-supported by both sides, as it was watched by hundreds of enthusiastic fans from both schools. The boys represented the school very well with great behaviour and no fouling. And Mrs Ervine said that they looked very smart, as well!

The Academy team thoroughly deserved their 3-0 victory, and got a wonderful reception from both sets of supporters when captain Logan McIntyre was presented with the shield. On the way to the final, the Academy beat Inverclyde High 9-0, St Andrews Secondary 2-1, Holy Cross High, Hamilton 4-1, Harris Academy, Dundee 3-1, Banff Academy 5-4, and Paisley Grammar 1-0.

Winning football teamThe Academy team is managed by Mr Hamilton (Depute Head Teacher) and Ms Timlin (P.E. Department). Mr Hamilton said, "The boys deserve all the congratulations that are coming their way. This is a really special group of boys, whose behaviour and attitude have always been first class, and they are truly magnificent ambassadors for their school and their families. Everyone is so proud of them." Ms Timlin said, "It has been a great achievement for the boys and for the school. Over a hundred teams started in the competition, and to reach the final was a testament to the hard work and determination they have put in, over the last four years. I am very proud of them."

Thanks to staff, pupils and parents for creating such a great atmosphere. Special congratulations go to Mr Hamilton and Ms Timlin for coaching and managing the team.

Springburn Academy team: Jamie Brown, Peter Manson, Logan McIntyre, Kyle Kimmins, Dylan Trewavas, Ross McLean, Jordan Campbell, Jordan Currie-McLean, Scott Forrester, Stuart McCann, Ryan Gemmell. Subs: Jack Gorman, Yaw Niemo, Graham Fyfe.